Javier Fernández, Ruth Beitia scoop National Sports Awards


The National Sports Board (Spanish acronym: CSD) has announced the winners of the National Sports Awards 2015sportspeople and organisations with outstanding achievements or remarkable efforts in the promotion and dissemination of sports.

The winners include figure skater Javier Fernández, high jumper Ruth Beitia, tennis player Garbiñe Muguruza and footballer Andrés Iniesta, whose amazing results earned them four of the National Sports Awards 2015.

Javier Fernández won the King Felipe Award for Best Sportsman. In 2015, he won his first World Championship – quite a feat for figure skating. His other victory was this year. In addition, Fernández, born in Madrid, is a four-time European champion (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016).

The Queen Letizia Award for Best Sportswoman went to Ruth Beitia, who is the reigning Olympic champion in women’s high jump after her triumph in Rio. In 2015, Ruth took bronze in the World Championships in Moscow and won the Diamond League – something no other Spanish athlete had done before.

Tennis player Garbiñe Muguruza was granted the King Juan Carlos Award for Best Newcomer in Sports after getting to the finals of Wimbledon in 2015. This year, Garbiñe made history by winning the French Open, Roland Garros, thus becoming the leader of women’s tennis in our country.

The Queen Sofía Award for Fair Play went to football player Andrés Iniesta. Everybody knows that Iniesta is an honourable man on and off the field. It is not only goals like the one that sealed victory for Spain at the FIFA World Cup 2012, but also his ethics and kindness.

Other National Sports Awards were given to the Men’s National Basketball Team, European champions in 2015; Miguel Carballeda, Chairman of the Spanish Paralympic Committee, for his efforts to promote sports among people with disabilities; the UPM School of Physical Activity and Sport Sciences (Spanish acronym: INEF) of Madrid, on the occasion of its 50th anniversary; and Pedro Ferrándiz, for his lifetime achievements as a basketball coach.

All the National Sports Awards 2015 winners:

Javier Fernández, King Felipe Award for Best Sportsman.

Ruth Beitia, Queen Letizia Award for Best Sportswoman.

Garbiñe Muguruza, King Juan Carlos Award for Newcomer in Sports.

Andrés Iniesta, Queen Sofía Award for Fair Play.

Jorge Sampaoli, Ibero-American Community Trophy for the Copa América victory of the Chilean National Football Team in 2015.

Jesús Tortosa (taekwondo), Infanta Leonor Award for Best U18 Sportsperson with the most promising career.

Miguel Carballeda, Infanta Sofía Award for the promotion of disability sport.

Men’s National Basketball Team, Barón de Güell Cup for Best Team.

LaLiga4Sports, Stadium Cup for its contribution to the promotion of sports.

Town of León, National Sports Board Award for the organisation of sporting activities or the development of sport infrastructure.

Colegio Base, Joaquín Blume Trophy for the promotion of sports in educational centres.

UPM School of Physical Activity and Sport Sciences (INEF), National Award for Arts and Sciences as Applied to Sports.

Pedro Ferrándiz, Francisco Fernández Ochoa Lifetime Achievement Award.